Sunday, March 29, 2020
    POLITICS Karnataka: Scuffle at Vidhan Soudha as two more Congress MLAs quit

    Karnataka: Scuffle at Vidhan Soudha as two more Congress MLAs quit

    Former CM Siddaramaiah claimed the Congress was ‘being prevented’ from meeting the Governor.

    Bengaluru: The spate of resignations in Karnataka continued July 10, with two more Congress MLAs—K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj — quitting. Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar is yet to accept their resignations.

    High drama ensued when Sudhakar and Nagaraj came to meet the Speaker. As Sudhakar was coming out of Ramesh Kumar’s chamber, some Congress leaders whisked him to minister KJ George’s office. BJP leaders immediately surrounded the office, and a huge argument broke out between the two sides.

    Later, former CM Siddaramaiah met Sudhakar at George’s office.

    Siddaramaiah on July 10 kept up his attack on the BJP, alleging the Congress was being prevented from meeting the Governor.

    “You belong to the whole state and all the parties, yet we are not allowed to meet you. I urge you to give an appointment immediately to brief about ongoing sabotage of democracy by @BJP4India. Is police acting on their own or on your direction?” he tweeted.

    On July 9, Siddaramaiah had said his party would seek disqualification of the rebel legislators for their ‘anti-party activities’. The Congress has urged Speaker Kumar to ban the MLAs, who have “colluded” with the BJP, from contesting elections for at least six years.

    Ten of the rebel MLAs — Pratap Gouda Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Byrati Basavaraj, BC Patil, ST Somashekhar, Arbail Shivaram Hebbar, Mahesh Kumathalli, K Gopalaiah, AH Vishwanath and Narayana Gowda — have moved court against the Speaker for not accepting their resignations. Their plea is likely to be taken up by the Supreme Court on July 11. The petition, moved by senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi, also seeks directions that the Speaker be restrained from proceeding with the application for their disqualification.

    The Congress will be represented by Abhishek Manu Singhvi.

    Meanwhile, Congress leader DK Shivakumar, who had gone to Mumbai in a bid to placate the rebel MLAs, was not allowed to enter the hotel where the legislators are staying. Shivakumar, Milind Deora, and other Congress leaders were detained by the Mumbai police from outside the hotel. In the evening, Deora’s office claimed Shivakumar was being ‘forcibly sent back’ to Bengaluru.

    Also Read: Karnataka political crisis rocks Rajya Sabha, House adjourned twice pre-lunch

    Also Watch: Karnataka Crisis: Senior Congress leaders blame BJP for resignation of party MLAs


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here